Primer "detonation" in a Dillon primer tube?

by Mark @, Sunday, September 30, 2012, 08:05 (4384 days ago)

Did anyone else read this over at the Cast Boolits website: http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=166612 ? This fellow says that there is no obvious cause. Another person writes that it has happened to him a few times. I have never had anything close to this happen when I use my Dillon 550. I am thinking there is more to the story but I bring this up here because I want to know if anyone here has a similar story.
Mark

by Dave B @, Alamogordo New Mexico, Sunday, September 30, 2012, 10:10 (4384 days ago) @ Mark

I have been loading on my RL550B since 1994 with nary an issue. I am not sure I can see how this could happen short of a primer getting stuck inside a tube and used something metallic to try and force it out.

by Alfred John, Sunday, September 30, 2012, 10:15 (4384 days ago) @ Dave B

I have heard of it and seen an article some years back on it. If you do a high volumn of reloading it is probably possible. Primer "dust" can build up a bit and it wouldn't take much to set it off. I used to reload a lot of .38 specials and because of this worry I would clean the primer tubes before and during the reloading. Of course I would load several thousand at a time using multiple tubes. I do believe it is possible. Just my thoughts.

Primer dust

by Fivegunner @, LOWELL Mi., Sunday, September 30, 2012, 11:54 (4384 days ago) @ Mark

you got to keep your reloader clean of the build up of primer dust, that`s what I think:beatdeadhorse:

Primer dust

by Dennis @, Sunday, September 30, 2012, 15:39 (4384 days ago) @ Fivegunner