Ruger LCP

by Charles, Wednesday, July 04, 2012, 12:46 (4473 days ago)

The Walter PPK I have been lugging around in my pocket since 1995 is starting to get a mite heavy. Technology has changed since then and the Ruger LCP at less than half the weight, is starting to look good to me.

I have not payed attention to these plastic pocket pistols, because I find them truly disgusting to contemplate. But, the world has turned over a few time and I am willing to take a second look at this POS.

Tell me of your experience and opinions about the Ruger LCP. I am familiar with the limitations of these types of weapons, so please don't tell me I am better off with a 1911. I already have three of those.:-D :-D

They don't get returned but I suspect they don't get shot a

by Hobie ⌂ @, Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Wednesday, July 04, 2012, 13:00 (4473 days ago) @ Charles

lot. We do sell all we get pretty quickly and it seems most buy them based on the recommendations of friends.

--
Sincerely,

Hobie

I like mine - light, handy and recoil is not that bad

by stonewalrus, Wednesday, July 04, 2012, 14:09 (4473 days ago) @ Charles

The only detriment is the sights. Ruger might have just as well left them off. I had trouble at the 7 - 10 yard range. I did better ignoring the sights rather than try to use them. Mine now sports a laser.

I have one, Charle - quite happy with it. It's a tool that

by John K., Wednesday, July 04, 2012, 14:21 (4473 days ago) @ Charles

rides lightly in the pocket, particularly in the summer months. "Cover" garments for 1911s and such are hysterically obvious in south Alabama around August. The 32acp Kel-Tec version would balk if a fella didn't pay close attention while loading those semi-rimmed cartridges in the magazine. Personally, no issues with the 380acp LCP. I have a Fobus clip on kydex holster that works well also.

There was a recall on early LCPs for firing when dropped, but Ruger worked it out and stamped the frame to signify the rework.