Any Charlie's Askins fans? Inre: .38 special New Service

by Slow Hand ⌂ @, Indiana, Thursday, November 14, 2013, 04:15 (3971 days ago)

Saw this one last night. Did a little reading and the 1933 date is right Bout the time Askins was in the Border Patrol. Probably not one of their guns but I bet it's still got some tories to tell!

http://www.gunauction.com/buy/12512462

I've bought from them before and they have been good sellers. They claim this is a refinish but at least online it looks original; I'm no expert though...

by SIXGUNNER, Thursday, November 14, 2013, 05:34 (3971 days ago) @ Slow Hand

COL. ASKINS CUSTOM .38 NS WITH ADJUSTABLE SIGHTS, IVORY STOCKS AND KING RIB IS PICTURED FULL-SIZE IN THE NEW BOOK ON COLTS FROM THE AUTRY MUSEUM.

by Slow Hand ⌂ @, Indiana, Thursday, November 14, 2013, 08:18 (3971 days ago) @ SIXGUNNER

I think I saw a picture of that revolver last night. He had the front of the trigger guard cut away; didn't it?

I will always wonder why he chose the New Service in .38 spl

by Rob Leahy ⌂ @, Prescott, Arizona, Thursday, November 14, 2013, 14:04 (3971 days ago) @ Slow Hand

over 44 spl or 45 colt or acp or the .38 spl in either of zColt's smaller framed six shooter da guns...

--
Of the Troops & For the Troops

I will always wonder why he chose the New Service in .38 spl

by SIXGUNNER, Thursday, November 14, 2013, 14:12 (3971 days ago) @ Rob Leahy

.38 WAS STANDARD BP ISSUE; HE LIKED THE RUGGEDNESS OF THE NS.

The auction says it is a reblue

by cubrock, Thursday, November 14, 2013, 14:48 (3970 days ago) @ Slow Hand

but my eyes don't detect hints of a reblue in the pictures. Seems like it will go too cheap right now, assuming they are wrong about the refinish.

Pitted barrel is a deal breaker for me

by Charles, Thursday, November 14, 2013, 15:20 (3970 days ago) @ Slow Hand