does anybody know what this tool is?

by Andrew @, Bloomington, IN, Sunday, May 05, 2013, 14:59 (4165 days ago)

[image]Found this at an estate sale today. I am guessing it is some sort of fishing tool.

does anybody know what this tool is?

by Slow Hand ⌂ @, Indiana, Sunday, May 05, 2013, 19:05 (4165 days ago) @ Andrew

There is a Powhatan drive in my small neighborhood. I was giving directions to an old sprinkler fitter buddy of mine and when I mentioned that street name he said there used to be a company that made sprinkler heads and other fittings for their trade named Powhatan. I'm a plumber and haven't ever heard of them so it may have been some specialized stuff.

Powhatan was the name of the Indian chief near Jamestown

by Andrew @, Bloomington, IN, Sunday, May 05, 2013, 20:05 (4165 days ago) @ Slow Hand

when John Smith and the gang got there in 1607.

This thing is a give-away promotional from Pow-Ha-Tan Cigars. Can't find anything about the cigar company, let alone what the heck this thing was designed for. It looks to have a line cutter, and 2 small hammer heads. Thus my thought that it was a piece of fishing gear.

The two tongs....

by Glen, Sunday, May 05, 2013, 20:39 (4165 days ago) @ Andrew

...and handle make it look like a wrench for removing a slotted flange, like those found on pop-up sprinkler heads.

You guys are killing my theory.

by Andrew @, Bloomington, IN, Sunday, May 05, 2013, 20:46 (4165 days ago) @ Glen

But what could it have to do with cigars?

Could it be a cigar stand of sorts?

by cas, Sunday, May 05, 2013, 20:47 (4165 days ago) @ Andrew

To lay your cigar on without it rolling away?

Ahhhh, maybe.

by Andrew @, Bloomington, IN, Sunday, May 05, 2013, 20:56 (4165 days ago) @ cas

The notch cut into the short end may have me on a false trail. It looks perfect for cutting fishing line. The rounded bits look like they could be used to mash a small sinker onto a line.