Primer pockets

by Art @, Littleton, Colorado, Tuesday, July 31, 2012, 19:09 (4295 days ago)

I hate cleaning primer pockets. I always tumble my empties in media then resize and deprime. Then use one of the hand tools to clean out the primer pockets. I have often wondered how necessary this is. Today after after tumbling some empties and then depriming while resizeing I threw them back into the tumbler for awhile and the pockets cleaned up pretty well. I think I will do this from here on out.

I do not resize empties before they are cleaned. Years ago I had a die start spliting cases and I believe that I damaged the carbid ring by resizeing dirty empties. Of course RCBS replaced that die no charge.

How do you guys handel this chore?

Art

I clean, size & deprime, clean primer pocket. There are

by Cherokee @, Medina, Ohio, Tuesday, July 31, 2012, 19:43 (4295 days ago) @ Art

many people that do not clean primer pockets for handgun cases. I've been doing it for over 50 years and will continue cleaning the primer pocket on all brass.

I used to then I stopped...haven't looked back.

by Rob Leahy ⌂ @, Prescott, Arizona, Tuesday, July 31, 2012, 20:28 (4295 days ago) @ Art

OK, sometimes I think that Eugene Rockhill will come back from the grave and smack me for being a slacker... Eugen was the WWII vet and retired Barstow narcotics cop that taught me how to reload & cast.

--
Of the Troops & For the Troops

Primer pockets

by bob, Tuesday, July 31, 2012, 20:51 (4295 days ago) @ Art

i tumble mine in reptire bedding, primer pockets come out reasonably clean. for my 'very best' rifle loads i do take an extra minute and clean the pockets, but for range ammo, nope.
bob

Primer pockets

by bob, Tuesday, July 31, 2012, 20:53 (4295 days ago) @ bob

REPTILE! bedding.......

Primer pockets

by Charles, Tuesday, July 31, 2012, 21:15 (4295 days ago) @ Art